Posted by: mlondon84 | August 8, 2008

Favorite Sports teams

Goo evening world. Sorry I have not been able to post daily. Work has been crazy as of late, and my spare time has either been spent working out, or sleeping. So with all the exercise I have been getting lately I felt inspired to talk about sports teams today.

So today’s little nugget of glory about me is:

“What is Dad’s favorite sports teams”

I have to break this down into specific sports as I am a huge fan of sports in general, so bare with me.

Professional Football (American) – Pittsburgh Steelers

Is this love, that I'm feeling?

Is this love, that I'm feeling?

I have always been a huge fan of the NFL, but I have never really claimed a team as my own. Usually the son is a fan of the father’s favorite team, but my Dad has poor choice when it comes to the NFL :), so I was left on my own to choose a team for many years. I can say that I have had a luke-warm feeling towards the Pittsburgh Steelers, but I also tend to like the team that is winning at the time. So I have to say I am a fare weather fan who just likes to watch the sport. But if I have to make a choice, I’ll stick with the Steelers.

College Football (NCAA) – Texas Longhorns

HOOK'EM!

HOOK'EM!

So this one is pretty easy, I always have liked the color orange, so it was a matter of time before I became a Texas Longhorns fan. I love the tradition, and I dislike Oklahoma with a passion, so this team fit all my needs.

Professional Basketball (NBA) – LA Lakers

KOBE!

KOBE!

So early on I poked fun at my Dad for having poor choice in professional teams, but this is one that choice that makes me say I am proud to be my Father’s son. The LA Lakers are the greatest NBA team off all time. I know some will say the Celtics are the greatest team of all-time, but to them I say, Shut it! The Lakers are in the hunt for a championship almost every decade, which shows the legacy the team has. I smile knowing that I will buy you clothes to wear that say GO L.A!

College Basketball (NCAA) – North Carolina Tar Heels

It's Awesome Baby!

It's Awesome Baby!

When I was 13 years old my family moved to Winston-Salem, and from that point on my life was forever changed in the way I saw College Basketball. The ACC is by far the greatest conference in the country for basketball and it shows. The entire state practically stops working just to watch the ACC championship game.

The first time I experienced anything related to the Tar Heels is when I had a competition in the Tar Heels practice facility. This is the arena that the team used to play in before the “Dean Dome”. I got to walk where great players of the past had played. Micheal Jordan, James Worthy, and the list goes on. I was immediately hooked from that moment on. I always wanted to go there to graduate, but I never had the chance, I hope that maybe one day you can walk in the passion of your Father and go to the greatest college in the world!

Professional Baseball (MLB) – Boston Red Sox

YANKEES SUCK!

YANKEES SUCK!

So this one is really easy, see my Dad was always a Dodger’s fan growing up, and I was always excited to hear the tradition of the team, but I never liked the team logo or team colors, so I never really grew to like the Dodgers. I never really liked baseball growing up either, but that all changed in the fall of 2004.

See the home run chases that Mark McGuire and Sammy Sosa had in 1998 really perked my interest in the sport, but I still wasn’t sold. There was one thing I was sold on regarding baseball and that was my hatred of the Yankees. I never liked them and in the late 90’s there were a dynasty. So I researched the Yankees in 1999 and aimed my sights on the Red Sox. I was sold from that point on as to what team I would follow, but it was really confirmed in the fall of 1004 when the BoSox came back 3-0 to beat the Yankees in the ALCS. That was amazing. My wife and I watched every single game of that ALCS and we jumped up and down on the couch every time they won. It was glorious. I hope to jump up and down in the future with you and your Mom when the Red Sox win another World Series.

College Baseball (NCAA) – Dallas Baptist University Patriots

Patriots 4 Life.

Patriots 4 Life.

I know that DBU is my Alma mater, but honestly, my baseball team rocks. They have won several CWS at the division II level and were award an invitation to the Division I world series championship in only their second year of eligibility in the division. I had the opportunity to sit next to some of the greatest college players and future MLB players. It was a great experience and am proud to say I am a Patriot!

Professional Football (Soccer) – Arsenal (Barely)

Two tickets to the gun show.

Two tickets to the gun show.

This is a hard one for me to decide on. I have a favorite team for every football league in the world, so it is hard to choose just one as my favorite, but I will say that this team is my top overall (Just barely) football team in the world.

The other team that comes close is Cruz Azul. I love that team and am always excited to see them do well.

Si habla en espanol

Si habla en espanol

~Note to Baby~

So there you have it. Those are your Dad’s favorite teams in the whole world. I can’t wait to see what type of sports you like. I would love for us to like the same teams, but don’t worry if you don’t we will be fine, just as long as you are never a Duke blue devil, Oklahoma Sooner, New York Yankee, or Boston Celtic fan. 😉

So True

So True

Love,

Daddy

Leave a Reply

Categories

